Running gives you countless blessings.


We all know that running is a great way to get into shape, but did you know that it can benefit almost every part of your body, as well as lift your mood? Running is amazingly effective at making you healthier in several ways.  While it may not be everybody’s favorite form of exercise, knowing what it can do for your life just may make you look at running in a whole new light. I spoke to three runners and this is what they had to say.

“I enjoy running, mostly sprinting because it’s challenging, it keeps my weight down, and I feel great once I’m done. My best time for a 5k was in September 2011 when I finished in 22.48. The last time I ran outdoors was the year before and I ran a 5k in about 31mins. My time improved due to the fact that I have more muscle and strength from weight training and sprinting.

A 5k is the least of my fitness accomplishment, lol! thats like a stroll in the park for me ;-)I sprint on a treadmill or outside 7 days a week. It’s important for people to understand that all running is not created equal. Long distance running and sprinting shape the body differently.

Long distance runners are very lean, and have less muscle. They burns fat and calories over a long period of time, but they are also likely to burn muscle. Sprinters on the other hand, utilize more sugar and less fat during the workout. Sprinting keeps the body burning calories long after the workout is done. I believe it also helps you lose weight more permanently compared to long distance running.”

Jane Mukami

Most recent time for a full marathon (26 miles) 4 hrs 32 minsRunning gives you;Running is so beautiful because it gives me immeasurable blessings. These are just a few of the uncountable

 

Running is so beautiful because it gives me immeasurable blessings. These are just a few of the uncountable:

  • Good health because it improves your physical internal and external body as well as your mind.
  • A good cardiovascular workout because it raises you heart rate for a period of time.
  •  A strong heart because as you run your heart rate and pumping ability adopts. Therefore, it lowers your blood pressure because a good strong heart will pump more blood with a lower rate.
  •  Strong toned muscles because as you run your body adapts to fit your circumstance.
  • Good sleep because it uses up your energy, subsequently, making you tired and sleepy.
  • Running makes you feel good, giving you a good peaceful mood.
  • The ability to lose weight because as you run your body utilizes energy that has been stored in your body as weight.
  • A strong respiratory system because as you run your body utilizes oxygen in the conversion of energy.
  • Strong capacity for blood circulation because as you run your heart pumps more blood to the muscles.
  • A Strong digestive system because as you run your digestive system speeds up.
  • Strong bone density in your legs, hips and back because as you run the constant impact caused by the run will increase your bone density and strength.
  • Intelligence because as you run you improve your focus and running increase the flow of oxygen rich blood throughout your body, including your brain.                                                                                                                          

Many people are concerned about long-term damage to joints such as knees, ankles and hips, as a result of running. However, with good quality running shoes and a sensible approach, the risks are minimal, and the benefits of being fitter outweigh those possible risks.    -John  Kanyua

“I run because it’s addictive, the good kind of addiction. I love the feeling of tying my shoe laces for a long run. It amazes me that after a break from running, your body becomes “lazy” and 1 mile is a challenge, but when you push yourself, your muscles adapt to the level of endurance and in a matter of a few weeks 10 miles seem like a brisk walk. The mental tenacity it requires to push the body to keep running even though you’re not in the mood, or challenging a long run also translates to other aspects in my life. It gives you the confidence to accomplish anything if you just put your mind to it in life. In addition, I don’t have to watch what I eat that closely. In fact, carbo-loading is encouraged, a 10 mile run burns about 1000 calories easy….nice!!!”

Kanini Wambaa

Best time for half a Marathon (13.1miles) 1 hr 4 mins

“Ever since I was young I loved running, when I join high school that’s when I realized that I can be a good athlete, so I started nurturing my talent. I must confess that it is difficult doing it day after day but the passion in me keep me on the path. Whenever I’m running, I do feel inner peace and through this I believe God is talking to me, so running is the best way for me.” Dan Kirwa

6 thoughts on “Running gives you countless blessings.

  1. wow! cool I didn’t know about all those benefits…. very helpful. I miss you J

    Like

  2. Vicky, I better see you running! lol!!

    Like

  3. hehe when J comes he’ll train me. …wait I don’t see you running!

    Like

  4. Hi, was just going through the google looking for good info and stumbled across your website. I am stunned at the design that you’ve on this site. It shows how you appreciate this subject.
    Heart Healthy Recipes

    Like

  5. Running along with other cardio is beneficial for your entire being..mind, body and soul. for me running for keeps me sane, have been running since childhood and what kept me going was the high I got from running. for me running eases my pain, stress and quite frankly make decisions… that may sound far fetched to some however, for me when i ran I get into deep thoughts and make the best decisions about life etcetera

    Like

  6. Pingback: Nike Free Run 3

Leave a Reply

